This post shares the best gluten free graham crackers brands including the ones that you will want to have on hand for making pie crusts, smore's, for kids snacks, and more.
Graham crackers are a staple in many pantries because they make a great snack, kids love them, and they can be used for many different recipes including pie crusts, smore's, Christmas crack and more. They are basically the perfect combination of a cookie and a cracker, being a little sweet and nice and crunchy.
However, if you have celiac, a gluten allergy, or gluten intolerance, you won't be able to eat most gluten free crackers on the market as most brands are not gluten-free. But don't worry, I've got you covered. Here I review different gluten free graham cracker brands including the pros and cons of each brand to help you decide which ones to buy and which ones you can pass on.
Disclaimer: this post contains affiliate links whereby if you purchase the product through that link I make a small commission. This does not cost you anything extra and helps me keep this website running.
Table of Contents
What is gluten?
The main sources of dietary gluten are wheat and its related species (ie. kamut, emmer, einkorn, spelt, and triticale), rye, and barley and derivatives (eg. wheat flour, pasta, couscous, and seitan), with the exception of purified ingredients such as deglutinated wheat starch.
Gluten is also often added to foods for its viscoelastic, emulsifying and stabilizing properties and can be found in many unexpected items such as hamburgers, soy sauce, soups, dressings, condiments, sauces, ice cream and more.
As well, ingredients and products that are naturally gluten free can become cross contaminated with gluten during the processing or manufacturing process.
According to guidelines from international regulatory agencies, commercially available products can be labeled as gluten-free if they contain less than 20 mg/kg (20 parts per million) of gluten, so if you are trying to avoid gluten it's important to look for labels that state the product is certified gluten free.
Why avoid gluten?
Some people need to avoid eating gluten for health reasons. For instance, those with celiac disease, certain autoimmune diseases, gluten allergies or gluten intolerance need to avoid ingesting gluten.
Are graham crackers gluten free?
No, most brands of graham crackers are not gluten-free. Most brands are made with wheat flour, graham flour, or whole wheat flour, all of which contain gluten. However, there are now many brands making gluten free options for graham crackers, typically using a gluten free flour blend or other gluten free flours such as almond flour.
Gluten free graham cracker brands:
The following is a collection of gluten free graham crackers brands. I have reviewed as many brands as I could find and these brands are listed in alphabetical order.
Annie's gluten free graham crackers
Annie's Bunny Grahams are bunny shaped graham crackers which are perfect for snacking. Kids love them because of their fun shape! The honey flavour is most like a traditional graham cracker, but these cookies also come in chocolate, chocolate chip and birthday cake flavours.
These graham crackers are certified gluten free, non GMO and organic.
Organic Wheat Flour, Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Expeller-Pressed Sunflower Oil, Organic Honey, Organic Corn Flour, Organic Whole Wheat Flour (graham flour), Calcium Carbonate, Organic Natural Flavor, Baking Soda, Sea Salt, Mixed Tocopherols (vitamin E) to Protect Flavor.
They make a great snack because of their smaller size.
They are made with no artificial flavours, synthetic colours, preservatives or high fructose corn syrup.
Kids love them!
They can be ground up easily to make graham cracker crumbs which can be used to make pie crusts.
Because of their shape you won't be able to use these graham crackers for things like making Smore's or Christmas crack.
Kinnikinnick graham crackers
Kimmikimmick S'moreables graham style crackers are a great size for making smore's and they are nice and thick so they don't break easily like some other brands. They are also made in a dedicated dairy and peanut-free facility so they are ideal if you have other allergies to worry about. They are also non-GMO, nut free, kosher and certified gluten free.
Pea starch, non-hydrogenated shortening (palm oil and/or canola oil), potato starch, brown rice flour, brown sugar, sweet rice flour, tapioca starch, water, rice bran, sugar, blackstrap molasses, honey, glucose, salt, sodium bicarbonate, pea protein, vanilla extract, modified cellulose, pea fiber, guar gum, inulin, soy lecithin, mono calcium phosphate.May contain: eggs.This product contains no preservatives.Produced in a dedicated gluten free, wheat free, dairy free, peanut free and tree nut free facility.
They are the perfect size for making smore's.
They taste just like a classic graham cracker.
These graham crackers are great for making pies, cheesecakes and other desserts.
They aren't as sweet as some other brands so kids might not like them as much.
They are a bigger size so not as good for snacking or packing in lunches.
This graham cracker is not vegan.
Mary's graham crackers
Mary's Gone Kookies are another graham cracker style snack. These honey grahams are plant based and organic and also come in a smaller size which is perfect for snacking.
Tapioca starch*, oat flour*, brown rice flour*, palm fruit shortening*, cane sugar*, clover honey*, chia seeds*, tapioca syrup*, sunflower oil*, maple sugar*, leavening (baking soda, calcium carbonate), natural flavor*, xanthan gum, sea salt, rosemary extract* (for freshness). *Organic. Manufactured in a facility that produces products containing soy and sesame.
The smaller size is kid-friendly and great for snacks.
Besides being gluten free these crackers are plant based, dairy free and vegetarian.
They are good for grinding into crumbs for making pie crusts.
The flavour. Of all the brands I've tried these are my least favourite.
The smaller size is not ideal for making smore's or other desserts.
Nairn's graham crackers
Nairn's oat grahams are a gluten free graham cracker made with oats instead of flour. They are high in fiber and contain no artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives and are lower in sugar compared to other brands of graham crackers. They are certified gluten free, are safe to eat if you have celiac disease and are non-GMO.
Gluten free whole grain oats (72%), sustainable palm oil, brown sugar, golden syrup, tapioca starch, raising agent (sodium bicarbonate), sea salt. May contain traces of milk, tree nuts, peanuts. Not suitable if you are allergic to the protein avenin.
They are a great size for making Smore's, pies and cakes.
The crackers are packed in pouches of 4 grahams to help preserve freshness.
These are great for snaking because you can grab a package to take with you.
The texture of these crackers is really nice. They are not too grainy or gritty.
Because of the extra packaging there is extra waste produced.
Not suitable if you are allergic or sensitive to oats.
Pamela's graham crackers
Pamela's honey grahams look just like a traditional graham cracker. And not only does Pamela's make a certified gluten free graham cracker, they also make a grain free graham cracker option too!
Butter (Cream,Salt), Brown Sugar, Brown Rice Flour, Sorghum Flour, White Rice Flour, Tapioca Starch, Gluten-Free Oat Bran, Molasses, Honey, Gluten-Free Natural Flavors, Baking Soda, Sea Salt, Grainless & Aluminum-Free Baking Powder (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Potato Starch, Sodium Bicarbonate), Xanthan Gum, Cinnamon.
These are the perfect shape for making Smore's.
They come in a variety of flavours including cinnamon and chocolate chip.
Great for making cheesecake and pie crusts and other gluten-free dessert recipes.
These are very sweet (too sweet for me personally).
They have a slightly grainy texture.
This one does contain dairy so if you are sensitive or allergic you will need to avoid this brand.
Schar graham crackers
Schar honey grahams are just like a classic graham cracker. These certified gluten free crackers are also lactose free, non-GMO and preservative free.
Corn starch, brown sugar, corn flour, palm fat, soy flour, soy bran, honey, modified tapioca starch, ammonium bicarbonate, baking soda, salt, caramelized sugar. Contains: Soy. May Contain: Lupine and Tree Nuts.
The texture is very similar to classic graham crackers.
These ones are perfect for making smore's.
They are great for baking.
They come in a variety of flavours.
If you like British tea biscuits these are very similar.
They are great for snacks!
These ones are a little thinner so they have a tendency to break easily.
They are on the sweeter side which you will either like or not like.
Simple Mills graham crackers
Simple Mills Sweet Thins in honey cinnamon taste very similar to a classic graham cracker. They come in a smaller, snack size and are made with a nuts and seeds blend including watermelon seeds, cashews, sunflower seeds and flax seeds.
Seed and Nut Flour Blend (watermelon, cashew, sunflower, flax), Tapioca Starch, Arrowroot, Coconut Sugar, Organic Coconut Oil, Honey, Honey Extract, Organic Cinnamon, Baking Soda, Rosemary Extract (for freshness), Sea Salt, Cream of Tartar, Vanilla Extract.
This is the only brand that is refined sugar free! They sweeten their graham crackers with coconut sugar and honey which is so unique.
The smaller size is perfect for snacking and is kid-friendly.
Besides being gluten free, these are also grain free, dairy free and paleo.
The small size makes these ideal for making graham cracker crumbs.
The smaller size means these can't be used for making smore's.
If you have certain nut or seed allergies you won't be able to eat these.
My top picks:
Of the brands I've reviewed, my top 2 picks include:
- Simple Mills - this brand is my personal favorite as I love the taste, love the healthy ingredients they use, and love that they are refined sugar free. I use these for making desserts, snacking, and for grinding into graham cracker crumbs for pie crusts.
- Schar - this is my second choice overall. These are preferred if you are making things like smore's as the bigger size is perfect for them. To me, these are the closest in terms of taste, size and texture when compared to a traditional graham cracker made with gluten.
Where to buy gluten free graham crackers:
In recent years gluten free products have become more readily available which is so nice if you are gluten free. Most grocery stores now carry gluten free crackers including graham crackers. You can also buy them online from many different retailers including Amazon. If you are in the US, Costco even carries the Simple Mills Sweet Thins at a discounted cost!
Here is a list of grocery stores and retailers that sell gluten free graham crackers:
- Amazon: Carries Simple Mills, Schars, Kinnikinnicks, Pamela’s, Nairn’s, Mary's, and Annie’s Bunny Grahams.
- Costco: Carries Simple Mills. Note that Canadian Costco does not carry these.
- iHerb: Carrie's Pamela's, Nairn's and Mary's.
- Natura Market: Carries Simple Mills and Annie's Bunny Grahams.
- Superstore: Carries Kinnikinnicks.
- Target: Carries Pamela’s and Annie’s Bunny Grahams.
- Walmart: Carries Schars, Kinnikinnicks, Nairn’s, and Annie’s Bunny Grahams.
- Well.ca: Carries Schar.
- Whole Foods: Carries Pamela’s, Simple Mills, and Annie’s Bunny Grahams.
How to use:
Graham crackers can be used in so many ways. Here are just a few ideas:
- You can use graham crackers to make a graham cracker crust for pies.
- Use ground graham crackers to top oatmeal, overnight oats, smoothies, cupcakes, cakes, and other desserts.
- Eat them as a snack.
- Make them into Smore's.
- To make graham cracker Christmas crack!
Frequently asked questions:
No, Honey Maid graham crackers and graham crumbs both contain gluten.
Yes, Triscuit crackers do contain gluten.
No, classic Ritz crackers are made with gluten.
You will know if crackers or other products are gluten free if they have the certified gluten free symbol, label or certification.
Other posts you will like:
If you try any of these graham crackers I would love to know which ones are your favourite. Please let me know in the comments!
- American College of Gastroenterology Guidelines Update: Diagnosis and Management of Celiac Disease
- What is gluten?
- Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity: A Review
- Celiac disease: a comprehensive current review
- Adverse effects of gluten ingestion and advantages of gluten withdrawal in nonceliac autoimmune disease